Now, I am a lawyer and not a mathematician, so perhaps my math is flawed (wouldn’t be the first time). By how much impacts the conclusion. Finally some information that is devoid of clutter. Then I rebuy in taxable each year what I donated. These changes made the numbers less impressive, but did not change the conclusions.]. Basically, to minimize your taxes in a taxable account, you want to pick funds that are taxed at the lower long-term capital gains and qualified dividends rate. gross earnings vs original income vs gross income vs net income vs post tax income). I explained the strategy on the bogleheads forum. Max them every year, burning down the taxable accounts to fund it if necessary. I really like that characterization: “A Roth account without the restrictions”. 4) You have to run the numbers yourself to make a decision. I could just wait 30 days (after selling) before purchasing the same fund, but being out of the market for 30 days could limit my returns. So it’s back to the spreadsheets for me! This makes a huge difference in the eventual capital gains tax. (And, don’t forget that if you tax loss harvest then you probably bought something else at a lower valuation, and lower basis, increasing your taxes later.) What do you think? To determine whether it’s advantageous to use tax-free bonds, calculate the tax-equivalent yield of a tax-free bond fund by multiplying it by (1 – your marginal tax rate). ), Your email address will not be published. One option to minimize taxes is to sell the shares with the highest cost basis (lowest long term capital gains) first. Under those assumptions, you might think that it would be best to put taxable bonds into your retirement accounts, especially for a high earner with a 33% tax bracket. I agree that it’s not always simple. If it matters, assume that the person in this situation wants the option to stop working ~6-8 years. I can not do any bonds due to religious reasons…. Again, this is probably an individual choice,