The most cold-hardy bromeliads are those in the genus Puya. She thinks every garden should have at least one clump of them growing and it’s hard to disagree! Aechmea pectinata: These stunning plants can reach over one metre wide. , Kej, Feel free to send us a photo of your bromeliad so we can help you identify and care for it. Bromeliads are tropical and semi-tropical plants that must stay warm—about 75°F (24°C). conditions. I was a little disappointed that they were all plain green. After your plant flowers, you'll have a year or two to keep it healthy and encourage it to produce new plants called pups. Scale insects can be simply wiped away. Please help, I am not experienced with plants and I don’t want it to die because I really like it. Europeans fi rst found out about bromeliads on Columbus’ second trip to the New World in 1493, where the pineapple (Ananas sp.) Avoid placing them near radiators and other heat sources as these can burn the leaves. Your email address will not be published. This requires adequate water and lots of diffused natural light. Your county Florida's native bromeliads like Spanish moss (Tillandsia usneoides) fall under this genus. Bracts last much longer than flowers so your bromeliad will keep looking good for several months. The greatest number of primitive species reside in the Andean highlands of South America where they originated in the tepuis of the Guyana Shield. They can spread easily through garden beds if grown in the right Learn how to care for your Hechtia bromeliad with this quick and easy informational guide. Guzmania Common as houseplants, Guzmania bromeliads typically have smooth, green leaves and showy flower spikes. How should I treat the main plant to get rid of the mold in the center cup with the flower? There are so many different types to choose from, such as Vriesea splendens, which has a scarlet spike that looks like a sword, while the star-like blooms of Guzmania lingulata come in … Some bromeliads grow well as “